top of page


The Society has been in existence for 117 years.  It was established on the 14th of October 1898,  to function along similar lines to those of the Royal Humane Society of the United Kingdom and the Royal Humane Society of Australasia based in Melbourne, both of which had, until then, bestowed awards for bravery in New Zealand

Permission to use the title 'Royal' was granted by Queen Victoria in December 1898


Photo of Current Directors

The Society is administered by a Court of Directors who volunteer their time.

The background and experience of the Directors enables them to assess the merits of applications for awards.

Actions justifying recognition are brought to the notice of the Society from various sources, including, the New Zealand Police, Coroners, The New Zealand Fire Service,  local authorities and members of the public.

Current Court of Directors

A J Forbes CNZM QC (President)

A S Cockburn QFSM

S D Duncan

Lieutenant Colonel (Retired) N J Gardner

J M Kane

J R Price

P G Summerfield QSM

S P Turek

B M P Weenink

Executive Officer

G C Murfitt

The Directors are happy to talk to service groups about the Society and past cases and if this of interest to you please contact the Executive Officer.


bottom of page